Tags

, , ,

Before I tell you the results of Flag Day I have to quickly apologize for not posting immediately.  I had intended to pre-write something so I could quickly fill in the post and throw it up here on Friday night but with my parents in town, being sick, and all the anticipation of/celebration after Flag Day I just didn’t have time.  I’m still working on this whole blogging-regularly thing; clearly, it doesn’t come natural to me.  That said, without further ado, the results of Flag Day:

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

WE’RE GOING TO MEXICO!!  I’ll be heading down to sunny Ciudad Juarez, Mexico in April of 2012.  I know Ciudad Juarez gets a bad rap but I am really excited to get to go there and do my first tour as a Consular Officer in one of the busiest Consulates in the world.  I am going to learn a lot and the classmates going with me are some of my favorite people in A-100 so I just know we’re going to have a blast.

For those of you who are completely confused as to why an Arabic speaker would be going to Mexico I don’t have a very satisfying explanation other than to say that the bidding and placement processes are complicated.  When we set up our bid list, we made a deal to bid based on preferences and not on preconceived notions about particular posts.  We set up a spreadsheet and assigned weighted point values to each of our preferences.  Next we researched all the 100+ posts on the bid list and noted which of our preferences each post met.  Finally, we tallied up all the scores and ranked the posts according to score.  When we finished ranking, I was actually quite surprised that Ciudad Juarez was one of the only posts on the entire list that met all of our primary AND secondary preferences.  So, regardless of what we had heard about it in the news, we decided to rank it high on our list and we are both thrilled to be heading there.

I start Spanish in September and inshah’allah we’ll head out of DC in plenty of time for Cinco de Mayo.  AWESOME!  WE’RE GOING TO MEXICO, BABY!

