Tags

Pack out went mostly well.  OK it went really well, right up until Friday morning (more than 18 hours after the movers had left) when I realized they had packed up my notebook that had the kitchen inventory lovingly written in it by my awesome friend (thanks again J!) as well as all of my notes about things we need to get done, all my notes from ConGen, lists of accounts we need to transfer, close, or change etc etc etc…

Ugh.  You know when you get really really mad about something totally stupid and know that you’re being an idiot but you can’t help it, which only makes you madder?  Well that happened.  My poor, poor, husband.  He didn’t even know what hit him when I called him, spitting mad about the notebook and looking for a fight.  I don’t know how I managed to find the most tolerant man in the entire world and then convince him to marry me.  🙂  After about two hours of alternating blinding anger and sheer panic, the absurdity of the situation hit me and while my annoyance at the loss of the notebook definitely remained, I was able to laugh (a little) and move on.  I have a feeling that there are going to be a lot of packing and travel related snafus in my life for the duration of my time in the Foreign Service so I guess there’s no time like the present to start learning how to not let that small stuff drive us crazy.*

We spent the rest of Friday organizing piles of stuff that we’re donating to charity and packing stuff for the car trip.  We finally checked into our hotel Friday evening around 7, grabbed a bite to eat, and crashed early.

Saturday, my awesome friend M came over to the apartment with bagels, coffee, and a giant bucket of spackle.  We spent a couple of hours removing shelves from our closets, removing nails from the walls, and spackling all those holes.  Then M and I left to go shopping for a bit while my husband stayed behind to finish up a few last minute things in the apartment.

Around 3:30, M and I returned to the apartment and met up with my husband and our friends J & J with whom we had made plans to spend the afternoon and evening.  We all walked uptown from the apartment to our hotel where we proceeded to spend the night burning through the rest of our liquor collection, playing nerdy, nerdy board games, eating wood-fired pizza and tangy frozen yogurt, and generally having a delightful time.  Aside from a minor situation involving a tiny yet incredibly sharp Spyderco knife, a giant can of pineapple juice, and my right index finger, the night was one of the most fun nights I’ve had in a long time.

Today we slept in (yay!), got breakfast at a tasty diner/dive that was full of chipper/annoying tourists, and spent the day sorting through paperwork and making piles of stuff to shred and stuff to scan in the upcoming days.  Mid-afternoon we went back to the apartment, did a final walk-through on our own, and then turned in our keys.  We officially don’t live there anymore and I am both excited about the future and saddened to leave what has been a great apartment with an amazing view, good friends close by, and a neighborhood that might be small but that I’ve come to love.  Turning in the keys and rolling out of the courtyard for the last time was definitely bittersweet and I was glad we had a going away party to attend this evening to keep me from being too sad about leaving.

Tomorrow we start our last bit of training through the FSI, and in less than 10 days we’ll be en route to post.  I feel like up until this point the process has been moving at a glacial pace and now all of the sudden things are happening so fast I don’t even have time to absorb them before something new comes along.

I can’t believe I’m moving to Mexico in 10 days.

 

*For the sake of full disclosure I feel like I have to admit that the loss of that damn notebook is still driving me a little bit crazy.  Maybe crazy has a half-life?  If that’s the case, then maybe by the time we get to post I won’t even remember the stupid thing.  Here’s hoping.

