I’ve been on the visa line for just about 2 weeks now.  I’m still painfully slow, but every day I feel a bit more confident and more comfortable both with my visa-line-Spanish and with my ability to apply the law quickly and accurately.  I won’t mince words: it’s hard working on the line.  I’m very much an introverted person in terms of how I recharge and how I deal with crowds and I find working on the line to be exhausting in every sense of the word.  At the end of the day my throat hurts from talking, my jaw is sore, and my ears ring from the reverberations of the microphones and from the general amount of ambient noise that surrounds me at work, and all I want to do is go home and sit in a dark room all alone. That said, I do like the work.  It’s interesting if a bit repetitive, and every day I get to meet people with fascinating stories.

The staff in Juarez is awesome. Everyone told me they were great, but I’ve been utterly amazed with how warm, welcoming, and helpful everyone is: from the guards at the gates, to the administrative staff, to the GSO staff. We’ve been very lucky to have such a great team of people supporting us.  Great applicants, great staff – this is shaping up to be a pretty awesome tour.

 

