Tags

, ,

The other day the husband and I bought a giant tub of delicious blueberries.  While I ate most of them on my morning oatmeal (don’t judge! oatmeal is tasty and full of nutrition!), I did manage to save a few cups for baking.  About half of the berries are going to go into a batch of blueberry muffin batter that I’m going to freeze for an as yet unscheduled SUPERMEGADRUNKBRUNCH*.  With the other half of the berries I whipped up a couple of single-crust mini blueberry pies.  This is seriously one of the easiest, tastiest summer desserts I’ve ever made.

Ingredients:
blueberries
dry white wine
granulated sugar
cinnamon
1/2 batch of your favorite biscuit dough (I added about 1 extra tablespoon of granulated sugar to my batch)
butter, melted
cinnamon-sugar

Equipment:
parchment paper
6 oz ramekins or oven-safe ceramic mugs

As you can see, there aren’t really exact measurements, but it’s pretty easy to eyeball the right proportions since there really aren’t many actual ingredients to mix up.

Wash the blueberries and put them into a large bowl.  Sprinkle them with a tablespoon or so of granulated sugar.  Add a splash of dry white wine, stir gently, and set aside.  Make the biscuit dough.  I use a really basic Betty Crocker recipe and I usually use half non-hydrogenated shortening and half butter because I like the flakiness of the shortening but the taste of the butter.  Bisquick biscuits or those Pillsbury biscuits from a can will work just fine, but if you use the canned ones just remember that they won’t be as sweet since you can’t add extra sugar.  If you’re making the biscuits from scratch, stop following the recipe when you get to the part about rolling it out.  That is far too much work for a “recipe” like this.

Cut parchment squares large enough to fill your ramekins with about a 3 inch overhang.  The overhang mostly just looks pretty but it also ensures that you don’t end up with burned blueberry goo all over your oven if you fill one or two ramekins a little too high.  Place a parchment square in a ramekin.  Fill about 2/3 with the blueberry mixture.  Continue filling ramekins until you’ve used all the blueberries.  Next, gently tear the biscuit dough into enough pieces for each ramekin to have roughly the same amount of dough.  Gently roll/pat the dough into a circle, using your hands.  Place dough circles on top of blueberries.

Place ramekins on a baking sheet and bake in a  350 degree oven until biscuit toppings are golden and berries are bubbly.  My oven sucks and doesn’t keep a steady temperature so this took me about 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and brush with melted butter.  Sprinkle heavily with cinnamon sugar and enjoy!

Next time I make these they’re going to get a little swirl of freshly whipped cream on top and maybe another drizzle of white wine.  YUM!   These were also fantastic the next day once the biscuits had soaked up a bit of the berry juice.  Actually, I kept a couple of them in the fridge over the weekend and my husband and I ate them tonight and they were still tasty, even 5 days later.

 

*trademark pending**

**That’s totally a lie, but wouldn’t that be a cool trademark to own?

