We’re back from an amazing week-long vacation in the Yucatan. We woke up this morning at 3:15 to finish packing and get to the airport for our 6 a.m. flight out of Cancun and we arrived in Juarez mid-morning to about 3 inches of mostly melted snow and a house that was FREEZING due to our hippie-energy-conserving-reduced-heat-while-on-vacation plan.  Thank god we had enough foresight to only turn the heat down to a respectable 63 degrees so our pipes didn’t freeze.

After a delightful post-holiday brunch at the home of some good friends, we came home and crashed for most of the afternoon. Now, most of the unpacking has happened, we’re sufficiently hydrated, and I’m yet again heading back to bed to sleep off the weird airplane hangover I always get when I travel, especially when I fly in the early a.m.  I feel like I’ve been completely useless today, but going to bed at 9:45 p.m. means I’ll be up bright and early tomorrow, right?  RIGHT?!?*

 

 

*Anyone who knows me in real life knows that it really doesn’t matter what time I go to bed, I don’t really like to be up before 8:30 or 9 a.m. Anything before that is just uncivilized if you ask me, which clearly is why I work an 8-5 job for an organization known for being relatively inflexible regarding work hours. Apparently I am a masochist, but I think that’s another post for another time.

